​Nominations for Southland Regional Council (Environment Southland) are now closed. ​You can find the final list of 2019 candidates on our candidates' page​.

Standing for local council is an incredible opportunity for people to have their say about the issues affecting their community. It's also a great way to develop leadership and governance skills.

Significant support, including governance training and guidance is provided to councillors through an internal induction programme and through LGNZ's EquiP professional development programme which ensures a consistent level of capability across the sector.

Twelve councillors make up the Southland Regional C​ouncil, representing six constituencies: Invercargill-Rakiura (6), Eastern Dome (2), Fiordland (1), Hokonui (1), Southern (1) and Western (1).

Full details about the electoral, nominations and campaign process can be found in the 2019 Candidate Information Handbook. Our Pre-Election Report is also a helpful guide, outlining council's financial position and the key challenges going ahead.​


To be eligible to stand for election, a candidate must be:

  • a New Zealand citizen (by birth or naturalisation ceremony); and
  • enrolled as a Parliamentary elector (anywhere in New Zealand); and
  • nominated by two electors whose names appear on the electoral roll within the respective area that a candidate is standing for.

To confirm what constituency you are in for the 2019 local elections, enter your address in our Southland Constituencies Boundaries' map.

Nomination forms

You can also pick up nomination forms from: 

  • Environment Southland, corner North Road and Price Street, Invercargill;
  • Gore District Council, 29 Civic Avenue, Gore;
  • Invercargill City Council, 101 Esk Street, Invercargill;
  • Southland District Council, 15 Forth Street, Invercargill; or
  • by telephoning the electoral office on 0800 922 822.

Please note that nomination papers cannot be accepted at Environment Southland offices, as the elections are being undertaken by the electoral officers of the region's constituent territorial authorities as a shared service.

A deposit of $200 (GST inclusive) or evidence of a payment by direct debit must accompany nominations. Cheques are not being accepted this year.

Candidates may provide a recent passport-style photograph and a 150-word-statement. Evidence of New Zealand citizenship is being requested this year for the first time. This could be a Birth Certificate, New Zealand Passport or Citizenship Certificate.


The latest remuneration figures as at 1 July 2019 and until the 2019 Elections are:

Chair: $111,625 p.a.
Deputy Chair: $47,732
Committee Chair: $47,732
Councillor: $39,777​

Page reviewed: 20 Aug 2019 10:47am