​​​​​​​​​​​​Elections for members of most local authorities (City/District/Regional Councils) are held once every three years throughout New Zealand.​​

Elections will be conducted, by postal vote, on Saturday 12 October 2019.

The elections will be conducted under the provisions of the Local Electoral Act 2001 and the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 and will be undertaken by Election Services, under contract to Environment Southland.

 Factsheet - 2019 elections 
 Environment Southland's Pre-election Report​​
 Public notice (17 July 2019) - Elections
 Public notice (21 August 2019)  - Environment Southland 2019 election
 Frequently Asked Questions​​​
 ​Candidate Information Handbook

ES constituency map 2019 - web.pngCandidates

To see what constituency you are in and who is standing in your area, enter your address in our Southland Constituencies Boundaries' map​.​ If you are using Internet Explorer, please use this map.

Nominations for candidates were open from Friday 19 July 2019 to noon,  Friday 16 August 2019

The official candidates' list can be found on our Candidates page. 

Electoral roll

Those eligible to vote in the election are all resident electors and non-resident ratepayer electors whose names appear on the electoral roll when it closes on Friday 16 August 2019. The Preliminary Electoral Roll will be available for public inspection from Friday 19 July 2019 to Friday 16 August 2019 at the respective territorial authority offices and libraries within their districts.

Resident Roll: All parliamentary electors, including those on the Māori Electoral Roll, are automatically enrolled on the Resident Roll, at the address where they live. Any alterations to the Resident Roll (eg change of address details, including new postal addresses) should be made by:

  • completing the appropriate form at any post shop;
  • phoning 0800 ENROLNOW (0800 367 656)
  • accessing the Electoral Commission website on www.elections.org.nz

Ratepayer Roll: If a person is on the parliamentary roll in one area and pays rates on a property in another area, this person may be eligible to be enrolled on the non-resident ratepayer roll. A firm, company, corporation or soci​ety paying rates on a property may nominate one of its members or officers as a ratepayer elector (provided the nominated person resides outside the area). Ratepayer Roll enrolment forms are available at respective constituent territorial authority offices, websites or by phoning the electoral office on 0800 922 822.

If you are not enrolled to vote by Friday 16 August, you can cast a special vote. 

To cast a special vote you will need to:

  • Submit your completed enrolment form to the appropriate Registrar of Electors (for the Parliamentary and Unpublished Electoral Rolls) or to Dale Ofsoski, Electoral Officer (for the Ratepayer Roll) by 11 October 2019 and

  • Apply to the Electoral Officer at the city or district council in the area in which you live (or the area in which you pay rates if you are applying as a ratepayer elector) for a special vote and ensure that your completed vote is in the hands of the city or district council for which you are voting by 12 noon on 12 October 2019.​​​

Key Dates

19 JulyElectoral roll open for inspection
19 JulyCandidate nominations open
16 August (12 noon)Candidate nominations close and electoral roll closes
21 AugustPublic notice of candidates’ names
20 – 25 SeptemberVoting documents delivered
16 Sept – 8 OctoberSpecial voting period
20 Sept – 12 OctoberScrutiny and early processing
12 OctoberVoting closes 12 noon
12 (pm) - 17 OctoberOfficial count
17 – 23 OctoberDeclaration of results
​29 OctoberCouncillor swearing-in ceremony
​mid-DecemberReturn of electoral donations & ex​penses form​

Electoral system

The first past the post (FPP) electoral system will be used for Environment Southland, Gore District Council, Invercargill City Council and Southland District Council. For the Southern District Health Board, the single transferrable voting (STV) electoral system will be used.​

Voting period

Voting documents will be sent to all eligible electors, by post, from Friday 20 September 2019.

The voting period is three weeks (Friday 20 September 2019 to noon Saturday 12 October 2019). Electors may post their completed voting documents back to the respective electoral officer using the orange pre-paid envelope sent with their voting document. Polling places for the issuing of special voting documents and for the receiving of completed voting documents will be available from Friday 20 September 2019 to noon Saturday 12 October 2019 at:

  • Gore District Council, 29 Civic Avenue, Gore;
  • Invercargill City Council, 101 Es​k Street, Invercargill;
  • Southland District Council, 15 Forth Street, Invercargill.
To be counted, all completed voting documents must be in the hands of the respective electoral officer or an electoral official by noon Saturday 12 October 2019.​

Progress results will be known early afternoon on Saturday 12 October 2019, and preliminary results will be known early on Sunday morning 13 October 2019. These will be accessible on this website.​

Electoral officer

For further information regarding this election, please contact the electoral office:

Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer
Environment Southland
C/o PO Box 5135, Wellesley Street, Auckland 1141
Email: info@electionservices.co.nz
Phone: 0800 922 822​​​​​​

Page reviewed: 06 Sep 2019 3:56pm