2018 Southland Community Environment Awards

​If you’re an environmental enthusiast in your business, on your farm or working on a special project, then the Southland Community Environment Awards are your opportunity to shine.

The annual awards recognise achievements of special significance that benefit Southland’s environment. Each year we look for people and projects that enhance, protect and showcase Southland’s environment.

2018 category nominees and winners

​Please read the press release for more information about this year's winners.

Environment action in education

Bronwyn Graham
Gore High School
Lucy, Izzy and Lara - ​Commended
Menzies College - Winner
Shane Wilson - Commended
Wini Solomon - Winner (Kaitiaki Tohu Pai (Guardian Award)

Environmental leadership in farming and land management

Mark and Vicki Nicholson
Mt Hamilton Station (PAMU)
Peter McDonald and Kim Spencer McDonald - Winner
Southern Humates
Wade Industries

Environmental achievement

Demolition World
Paul Duffy - Winner
Raewyn van Gool - Commended
Russell and May Evans - Winner (Long Service Award)

Environmental action in the community

Bluff 2024 - Winner (Councillors' Special Award)
Cathy Jordan - Commended
Forest Hill Foundation Trust - Winner
Omaui Landcare Group
Southland Coastal Charitable Trust
Three Rivers Catchment Group
Wyndham Wildlife Refuge

Individual environmental leadership or action

Anne McDermott - Commended
Jade Maguire - Winner
Jason Rutledge
John Taylor

Categories and requirements

There are a number of different award categories which cater for all kinds of environmental projects and activities.

The same project can be nominated in up to two categories. Projects entered must be either located in Southland, have been developed in Southland or be of demonstrated benefit to the region. People can nominate their own project or another project that makes a positive contribution to the environment.

What are the prizes?

Winning entries receive sponsored prizes that include cash, travel or native plants.

When's the awards night?

This was the 23rd year the awards have been held, and the winners were announced at a celebration night on 24 October at the Ascot Park Hotel in Invercargill.

Page reviewed: 25 Oct 2018 10:36am